Skip to content

Subversive Literature

September 27, 2010

Twilight.  You may have heard of it.  Sparkly, chaste vampires are sooooooo in right now. I’ve read all four of the books. Greatness. I also made it through 1.5 films of Kristin Stewart and her mopey effing face. Terrible. No one is that upset when beholding a jaw line as perfect as R.Pats.

I digress.  The point is people love the Twilight franchise. Tweens are all up in that shiz.  So I was pretty shocked to hear it made the list of most requested to be banned from US libraries. Quoi?!?

I sort of respect the effort and citizenry required to request literary banishment. Is there a specific request form for such things? More importantly, can I find it online? I’m getting a Kindle for Christmas, so I’d prefer to request censorship from the comfort of home in the future.

The Brits have published a list of our top ten most requested books in terms of public banishment. Here are some other pieces of smut that are besmirching the family values of libraries across this great land:

Reasons: Sexually Explicit, Offensive Language, Unsuited to Age Group annnnnd black people.

Reasons: Racism, Offensive Language, Unsuited to Age Group annnnd lawyers.

Reasons: Sexism, Homosexuality, Sexually Explicit, Offensive Language, Religious Viewpoint, Unsuited to Age Group, Drugs, Suicide, Violence annnnnd children.

Reasons: Sexually Explicit, Offensive Language, Unsuited to Age Group annnnnd I don't know because I spark noted that shizz.

So here’s my thing… If librarians had an ounce of decency they would keep Stepehnie Meyer, the voice of our generation, on book shelves.  They can torch the other crap for all I care.

No comments yet

Leave a comment